Shake sniffle cough

“You know kids, back in my younger days, people actually made music with real instruments!”
-Me in I dunno, 30 or so years time

Wanting: To move out
Craving: Strawberry sundae
Listening: Don’t Cry by Guns N’ Roses

Yeah the fact that I’m 20 is still slowly sinking in. Suddenly there are so many things to accomplish.

One of them would be moving out. Ideally I’d pack up my stuff and GTFO after NS but reality and I are chums now, so I figure another 5 years or so I could probably move in with a roomie. So yeah, anybody interested? I’d vacuum every day, clean my own dishes and am particular over laundry care. Weekly apartment-wide cleaning sessions too provided with the right equipment. We’d have a decent gaming/movie/TV setup and my room would be awesome, contributing to the overall awesomeness of our place. Haha. Did I mention mini-bar? …OK OK so maybe I’m getting a bit too ambitious with the mini-bar but hey, nothing a simple wall-cabinet and counter won’t provide.

I’ve decided against any pricey clothing purchases because I’m dead-set on getting my camera this year and I’ve had the pleasure of reacquainting myself with the laundry massacre that takes place in my current residence. I… don’t even want to talk about it.

My $150 shirt would likely reduce to a $150 rag after a couple of cycles of laundry hell. Or in the case of my white River Island French-cuff shirt that I’ve worn less than 3 times, simply vanish. I suspect the shirt got burned or somehow or other mutilated beyond repair. If only they knew it cost me $135.

So yes. This year will be filled with simple hang-outs and activities and the occasional cheap shirt.

I’ve decided that I’d buy one Blu-Ray movie every odd month, starting from March. There’s a lot to catch up on. I’m quite confident it’ll be some time until they come up with a next-gen format that trumps Blu-Ray.

Anyway I spent the whole of yesterday in bed. For those who don’t know, I was stricken with a horrible flu and fever on Sat morning. It pretty much got worse through the day and my sleep was interrupted by trips to the restroom. I sweated so much I had to lay two towels over the bed too… Then Sunday was pretty much more fever, although a gradually subsiding one, and a mother of a headache. It’s like being drunk. But far from fun and filled with aches. Today the fever’s gone, lingering presence of a sensitive headache and an all-out cough and cold with phlegm! Whoo-pee. What a great way to spend the long weekend.

Pretty much watched the entire second season of How I Met Your Mother, The Happening (2008) and Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I only watched The Happening because Zooey Deschanel was starring in it. If she was happy and quirky in Yes Man, she was scared and teary-eyed in this one. Still made of love. Throne of Terra, those blue eyes. Ahem.

FSM was a much better movie. Jason Segel’s a really good actor for breakups it seems, haha. It’s interesting to note that he wrote the movie and that the character he plays in HIMYM is called Marshall. I honestly didn’t expect the nudity though. Haha. Then I recalled I was watching the Unrated Edition. Kristen Bell was interesting too. I remember her as the hot blond in Heroes (oh yeah, Elle. Together with Claire they make the two teen girls with massive issues…) and I only realized while watching the movie that she’s the voice-over for Gossip Girl too! Whaddya’ know.

I’ll be selling off LittleBigPlanet. While I truly was looking forward to it before launch, it’s more of a game catered to people who indulge in user-created content. Very much like the upcoming The Sims 3. And no M@xis, you shall not have me buying it. Nevar! I see your plans for world domination through enslaving the population via Sims. Nonetheless LBP is a great game and incredibly cute but I foresee it collecting dust in my pile. I’ve only got a small number of games and these ones are priceless.

Here’s something I came across on Jac’s blog:


You Are Buttermilk Pancakes


Your prefer traditional, old fashioned foods.
You shy away from anything fake, and you like meals with simple ingredients.

It’s not likely someone would find margarine or diet soda in your kitchen.
Instead, someone might find a loaf of homemade bread baking or a soup simmering.

So true! I’d only keep a few bottles of soft drinks in the pantry for guests. And God-Emperor what I’d give for a nice, steaming hot bowl of mushroom/pumpkin soup now. I honestly cannot find it in me to enjoy Asian soups because all I see is oil swirling at the top. I guess dumpling/wanton soup would be the best bet.

Speaking of Asian dishes… it’s CNY and I have no access to ba kwa. What heinous crime is this! This is like the only time of the year I’d indulge in it. Even if I go ahead and buy some, there would be two fundamental flaws. One: No money. Two: I have a sore throat.

Sigh.

I think I’d go drop by Mac and get a double cheeseburger and a strawberry sundae later tonight though. I doubt they still have that McFlurry with the strawberry chunks in it, so sundae’s the closest I get. See what being sick does to you.

I know this is stupid but I am so pre-ordering Dawn of War II: Collector’s Edition. I know my PC isn’t up to task (I’m hoping it does on lowest settings…) but it’s mostly for the 1:500 chance to win this!

I want!

I want!

This my friends, is not some simple 1/100 scale figure. Not even 1/60. Or 6 inches tall.
No no no.

This, my friends, is 2.1m worth of life-sized Space Marine goodness, of the Blood Ravens chapter. What W40K fan would not want a hallowed Adeptus Astartes statue in his possession? None I tell you, none! If only they gave away another one, a Chaos Marine. That would be awesome.

Problem is, pre-order date is on 2 Feb and is limited to only 1,000 copies. 2 Feb is on a Tuesday. A working day. Somebody is going to have to get it on my befalf! D: *hyperventilate*

Hopefully launch day would be on a weekend, or I’d be forced to take leave and come up with some cock reason for applying.
If my PC can’t play the game then… well… at least I can stare at the box-art and play Killzone 2 instead.

Why not upgrade or get a new PC then, you ask?

Simply because I’m limiting my gaming to only my PS3. I don’t have the luxury of dedicating half my waking-moment to gaming anymore. Unless I work for a gaming magazine. Woot. My future PC would only be a media-server. All my work and stuff going to be on Mac systems.

I hope I recover in time by Wednesday. Or I’d just collapse and die during live run. Or maybe faint during weekly parade training. Or worse still… faint during the actual parade itself. That’s just evil. Doing so in front of some minister, ambassador or even the President himself. Wow. I’d be famous, lewl.

Happy Chinese New Year to all of you~
Those who find themselves with an abundance of money and feel generous call me yah? :D

2 thoughts on “Shake sniffle cough

Wield the power of commentary!

