Yummeh

Not too long ago, I had this event in camp and I was helping out with the organizers. I sat on the bench and let my gaze wander over the crowd. Eventually my eyes settled on something, or rather, someone: this lady with short hair that suited her nicely. There she was, in PT attire, doing her warm-up stretches. As I found myself curiously turned on, a realization dawned upon me:

I was fully recovered from my illness! :D

Eating: Banana Nut Crunch
Listening: No Woman No Cry by Bob Marley & The Wailers

OK so I’m not fully recovered, I have this cough that pops up every now and then but I’m feeling very much better. The past couple of weeks have been a living hell. Despite the 40 degrees fever and uncontrollable shaking, the blood test came back negative and I didn’t have dengue after all. Was kind of anti-climatic, hahaha. If I died I would have been a martyr for the countless thousands of male souls suffering in service to the nation. That would have been interesting.

Earlier this week I had a sudden craving for cereal. There I was reading and then suddenly: oh my God-Emperor I want to eat cereal. Talk about random. Makes me wonder about pregnant women and their cravings.

So when I booked out this morning I stopped by NTUC Fairprice on my way back and bought a few stuff I needed, along with Select’s Banana Nut Crunch! Lucky for me there was this bunch of small bananas in my kitchen so I promptly put it in together with the milk. Perfect right? Alas, the bananas tasted funny :(

Nonetheless I went all out and ate this huge bowl of cereal. Emptied half of both the box and milk. I think it’d be safe to say I won’t be eating it again anytime today, hahaha.

For some trivia, Bob Marley’s birthday was yesterday! Rest in peace man.

I was mildly surprised when I checked my bank account and discovered $200 had been deposited into it. Must have been this… thing going around. Honestly I have no idea what it is. I hear the other guys talking about letters and $200 so I figured this must be it. Don’t see the letter on my desk though; must still be out there somewhere.

So what am I gonna do with this $200? I might, and I say might, use some of it to buy a second-hand copy of Fallout 3. That’s it. I’m leaving it untouched since I’m getting my pay on Tuesday. And even then, I shall begin…

Operation Anchorage.

No, not the Fallout 3 mod but yes I took the name. Basically, upon review of my expenses for the month of January, I noticed that I there are huge spikes in my spending. Over the weekends. When I go out. On impulse buys.

Which doesn’t make sense because you see, I spend only $1 every weekday in camp for breakfast. That’s it. I indent my lunch and dinner and drink only plain water. Maybe I overcompensate and indulge luxuriously over the weekends for it; that puts all the effort in the first place to waste.

THEREFORE.

I shall anchor myself to my room. I shall seldom go out and in those circumstances, spend less than $10 each time. $20 at most for a damn good reason.

If I keep up with my savings of $200-$250 a month, I’ll hit my target of getting my camera later this year. Perfect.

Which is one of the reasons why I want to buy Fallout 3. I need to finish the game and it’ll be a great way to occupy my weekends when I’m not doing other stuff. Gonna pick up my guitar and play some random stuff too. I seriously wanted to buy a $200 or so keyboard while I wait to buy my digital piano but people I know who do play advised me against it. The key-action would feel different and there would be no pedals etc. Hence, le ol’ guitar.

Will now monitor my spending like a hawk.
A frickin’ hawk man, with those beady little eyes and kawh! and wings and stuff, man.
Lol. This month would be a little hard but Throne take me if I’m not going to have my hard-iron determination show through.
I’m gonna have money accumulating in my account for my pricey purchases and no one can stop me!
(Actually a lot of people and things can but no!)

I had a little spike of email notifications from Facebook, since there’s this photo of me back in my concert band in secondary school apparently. I couldn’t be bothered. I’m not logging onto Facebook because… I can. I’ll maybe log back into it next year.

Yeah I was in concert band. That was before I discovered the gift that was the English Language Club.

OK shall end post here. Busy with stuff! Shall do this meme from Sean later tonight.

One thought on “Yummeh

Wield the power of commentary!

