Mid-April

Well after a month of having free time to clear up some things and having my money flow in only one direction, I’ve managed to get myself a job. Looks like I’ll be heading back to Resorts World Sentosa! Haha, which is awesome in a few ways. I’ll sort of be doing logistics work for RWS/Universal. I’ll find out what it really is when I get there tomorrow.

Also, this might be the most exciting part: it’s a night-shift job!

I’ve always been curious about what night-shift work is like. You all know how I dislike the weather in the day and also how I dislike public transportation. Working at night was like the solution to these woes! Of course I never did manage to find a suitable one, most of them are usually factory-jobs or places like 7-11 and Cheers. But this seems like a decent trade-off because the working hours are fine too. They’re reminiscent of guard duty, haha. Shall see how it all goes. It’s a 2-month contract anyway so if it’s not working out I’ll just suck it up til the thing ends. Would I continue if I like it? Again, I”ll have to see although having to look for another job after that will be a pain in the ass.

Haven’t really got anything to post up this week. Rewatching Band of Brothers. Able to appreciate it a lot more than I did eight years ago. Rewatching movies from years ago is always an interesting experience.

The monetary package us ‘young adults’ will be getting in a few week’s time is going a long way to help me fund my new PC. Honestly I rather save it instead but I rather not take the risk of not getting that new PC anytime soon. I’ll save up with my salary. Me being me of course I have a million and one things to save up for. Now that I have re-focused on my tabletop hobby (100% painting only) I’ll be needing to spend some money to get a proper workspace set-up too. Videogaming on my PS3 is going to continue taking a break. If it dies I might probably not even buy a new one; gaming on PC just gives you so many options. There’s also travel that I’ve recently started considering. It has never crossed my mind for YEARS but might as well get round to doing some of it. Things like clothes don’t even need to be mentioned of course, haha. As for that piano, it’s actually possible if I remained employed now up til end of the year. I’ll have to cut back on the hobby funds and other things, but it’ll be attainable. Maybe I should do that, huh?

Oh and if you’re bored and curious, here have a look at my hobby to-buy list haha. I really need those brushes, there’s a real noticeable difference in quality and performance.

My night-time snacks

Baby carrots be awesome.

I leave you with a poem. I was a far more adventurous lad when it came to reading back during my primary school days. There was a period of time right after my fascination with space (which I still have but confess to knowing little about, haha) where I read a lot of poems. I didn’t have full computer access back then so I resorted to lurking in the libraries a lot, so I was very random when it came to what I read. I just picked a book or two off the shelves and went about to looking for a nice spot… provided I wasn’t gaming or playing that day. Playing. Now that’s a word you don’t use often at my age, haha.

Anyway, there was this one poem which struck a chord with me. I didn’t understand all of it then but I knew enough. I’ve literally stuck to it til this day because I believe in it and it was by random chance that I came across it again a few days ago. I never knew who the author or what the title was, but now I do thanks to the internets. Some of you should have read it before; it’s quite popular I think? I still have a book of poems or two amongst my book stash somewhere, if it wasn’t given away already. When I grew older I leaned towards the likes of Tom Clancy and then had a roller-coaster affair with fantasy and science-fiction before finally settling for all my Warhammer 40K fluff. I will readily admit there are only very, very few good writers when it comes to 40k but when you find one, it’s really something else. I will still read books across all genres that come recommended of course.

Right right the poem, here you go:

Solitude

Laugh, and the world laughs with you;
Weep, and you weep alone.
For the sad old earth must borrow it’s mirth,
But has trouble enough of its own.
Sing, and the hills will answer;
Sigh, it is lost on the air.
The echoes bound to a joyful sound,
But shrink from voicing care.

Rejoice, and men will seek you;
Grieve, and they turn and go.
They want full measure of all your pleasure,
But they do not need your woe.
Be glad, and your friends are many;
Be sad, and you lose them all.
There are none to decline your nectared wine,
But alone you must drink life’s gall.

Feast, and your halls are crowded;
Fast, and the world goes by.
Succeed and give, and it helps you live,
But no man can help you die.
There is room in the halls of pleasure
For a long and lordly train,
But one by one we must all file on
Through the narrow aisles of pain.

Ella Wheeler Wilcox

And because I’m dying to play this again… Jeremy Soule’s compositions makes Elder Scrolls so much more epic!

Wield the power of commentary!

