Dragons and prophecies

There hasn’t been any gaming posts in a long while. By gaming I mean videogames, not tabletop — both of which have been taking a back seat lately. It doesn’t help that my PS3 passed away a few weeks back and that my PC can only play games that were released before 2006, if I wanted to avoid any stress and/or emotional breakdowns, haha.

Rest assured: I’m still a gamer. Why am I bringing this up? Because 2011 sees the release of a title I’ve been waiting for years. I’m even 100% motivated to get a new PC for it (amongst other video/audio related things). There have been some great gaming releases over the few years yet I’ve never talked about them. So why the special treatment for this one? Because it’s awesome. It is made of pure win. Insert every other internet meme you can find, my love for this series is all-encompassing. And no, it is not Relic’s upcoming Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine.

Could you have guessed it from the post title? Haha.

I DEMAND YOU PLAY THE ABOVE MUSIC WHILE READING.

I’m pretty certain by now that those have been very obvious clues, hahaha.

THE ELDER SCROLLS

In the world of videogaming, let me list my Top 3 Series’ of all time.

  1.  Metal Gear Solid
  2. Metal Gear Solid (damn straight, I’d make love to it)
  3. The Elder Scrolls

It was MGS that really got me into videogames. My first time was a memorable experience (innuendo intended). It really opened my eyes to the possibility that videogames could be so much more than simply Tetris, Puzzle Bobble, Ridge Racer and what-other-games-were-popular-back-in-1997.

Fast forward to 2006. The release of Bethesda’s “The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion”.

Mind = blown. I was fortunate enough at the time to have a PC that could actually handle the game at medium settings. It was amazing. Upon completion, I promptly scoured the internet and started playing “The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind”, which was a much earlier release, back in 2002.

Again, mind = blown.

I think I had found my favourite RPG of all-time. By the way, I started RPGs with Final Fantasy VIII on the PlayStation. It was an adventurous move, since I was like “holy crap why does this have four discs?!” Ah, the good old days. I’m not really a big fan of the new direction of Final Fantasy…

Anyway, back on point. ELDER SCROLLS = AMAZING. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea/coffee/Coke/Pepsi/etc. The same can be said for anything, right? Granted there are its pitfalls in both versions but they’re overshadowed by the big picture. They’re also what makes them uniquely Elder Scrolls. Besides, some funny bugs in there.

Bethesda went on to work on Fallout 3 after Oblivion. FO3 was good but it didn’t really make me all giddy like TES did. Then I heard a rumour, one floating around that the next Elder Scrolls was in the works. I consulted my Elder Scrolls wiki and promptly got to thinking.

I’ve never played the first two entries: they’re too dated for me, as much as I try to enjoy it. The first game, Arena, covered all of Tamriel (the world the game is set in). Daggerfall has you adventuring in Hammerfell and High Rock. Morrowind brought us to the island of Vvardenfell as well as Morrowind (well, just Mournhold) in the expansions. Oblivion is set in Cyrodiil as well as, you can guess, Oblivion (where the daedra, basically demons, exist).

So that leaves us with a few places. Skyrim, Valenwood, Elsweyr and Black Marsh. I was hoping for either Skyrim or Black Marsh. Looks like we’re getting the first and I am pumped for it! Homeland of the Nords. The sons of Skyrim. Gonna’ get me some sweet manly barbarian action.

I will now proceed to write about, and detail my excitement about, Skyrim:

…I cannot. Words cannot describe it. THIS WILL BE SO EPIC, I’D DROWN A GREMLIN IN THE DAMN SEA WITH MY EXCITEMENT!

There are some concerns. I hope that they don’t make this too action-oriented and leave out some of the greater elements the immersive RPG experience of TES.

Now I shall leave you with all you need to know about this game.

The official trailer, as well as a gameplay interview session!

Dragonborn Dragonborn
By his honor is sworn
To keep evil forever at bay
And the fiercest foes rout
When they hear triumph’s shout
Dragonborn for your blessing we pray

And the scrolls have fortold
Of black wings in the cold
That when brothers wage war come unfurled
Alduin bane of kings
Ancient shadow unbound
With a hunger to swallow the world

Oh and here, have a medley of all the themes, haha~

One thought on “Dragons and prophecies

  1. Pingback: Scrolls, everywhere! | Mayoyaki

Wield the power of commentary!

