A Little Wordplay

For the longest time, I’ve always used “Deck The Halls” to come up with parody lyrics for when I’m far from amused — me being sick as an example. I attribute it to the fact that it’s very simple to do so and the carol itself has a catchy tone which can be used ironically. To “get it out of my system”, so to speak, I decided to just come up with enough lyrics to cover the entire length of the song. Using the local weather as my source of inspiration, I came up with this during a warm, humid and damp-in-places night:

Dump the shirt that’s now all grimy,
fa la la lala, la la la la.
‘Tis the season to be sweaty,
fa la la lala, la la la la
Humid nights abound and plenty,
fa la la, lalala, la la la.
Cool’s embrace will end quite shortly,
fa la la lala, la la la la.

Nightly showers, skip the heater,
fa la la lala, la la la la.
Drinking water by the liter,
fa la la lala, la la la la.
Man, this heat is hell infernal,
fa la la, lalala, la la la.
Please don’t let this be eternal.
fa la la lala, la la la la.

Fans and breezes don’t quite cut it,
fa la la lala, la la la la.
Lucky then for aircon magic,
fa la la lala, la la la la.
Joy and laughter, o’ what pleasure,
fa la la, lalala, la la la.
Yay for Daikin, mankind’s treasure,
fa la la lala, la la la la.

I dedicate this silly piece (and featured song) to my friend Sean Wee, the man who made up a highly memorable “Whose Line Is It Anyway?” parody which made for some good times back in school. He’s probably enjoying considerably better weather over in Australia, the lucky sod.

I’m going to have to postpone the DayZ post indefinitely. I’m terribly busy rushing my paint-job and other projects. I will, however, post up a video sometime this weekend covering the antics of my little zombie-survival party.

Featured song? A little bit of Christmas and jazz. It doesn’t get any better than this.

Wield the power of commentary!

