Spike VGX 2013

I’m shifting to a new address sometime in the future, mostly because I’m planning to be a little more public with the new blog. There are just way too many memories in Mayoyaki that are close to my heart. Also lots of silly nonsense. Well, mostly silly nonsense. Like the previous post on shaving – what the hell was that?

Expect a post linking you to the new site once it’s up.

Whilst refilling my caffeine tank I ran across an email notifying me of Steam discounts on Spike’s VGX nominated games. It’s an exciting list since most are highly deserving of recognition. Maybe Spike really are listening to feedback, as I’ve long considered the previous VGA’s to be a huge marketing joke. In my opinion, the real awards are given out during the Game Developer’s Conference. Hopefully Spike are doing more than just a name change.

Anyway, I decided to list out my picks for VGX because why not?

The list of nominees I referred to are here: http://store.steampowered.com/promotion/vgx

  • Game of the Year: Grand Theft Auto V
  • Studio of the Year: Rockstar North
  • Best Shooter: Metro: Last Light
  • Best Action Adventure: Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag
  • Best Sports Game: N.A.
  • Best Independent Game: Papers, Please
  • Best RPG: N.A.
  • Best Fighting Game: Divekick
  • Best Driving Game: N.A.
  • Best DLC: Blood Dragon
  • Best Xbox Game: N.A.
  • Best PlayStation Game: N.A.
  • Best Nintendo Game: N.A.
  • Best PC Game: Battlefield 4
  • Best Handheld Game: N.A.
  • Best Casual Game: N.A.
  • Best Voice Actor: Steven Ogg as Trevor Phillips (GTA V)
  • Best Voice Actress: Ashley Johnson as Ellie (The Last of Us)
  • Best Soundtrack: BioShock Infinite
  • Best Song in a Game: “Will the Circle be Unbroken” (Courtnee Draper & Troy Baker – Bioshock Infinite)

***

Have I posted up this song before? I can’t recall but it’s an opportune time to show off this cover by the talented Taylor Davis.

Ah, videogames.

Wield the power of commentary!

